Swimming in Oceans of Love

BHARATI NAYUDU OCEAN OF LOVE

Hi,

downloadI am sharing a card that my sister and i created together for the Time Out ‘Home Sweet Home’ photo challenge. Their inspiration  photo “Anythingology” is really awesome.

What inspired us was the contrast between the striking white of the seahorse/shells and the vibrant orange of pumpkin. The twigs and glass bottle added to the beauty. We tried to incorporate these elements in our card as well.

IMG_20171025_090037_605

 

To make this, we took a white card that had a jar shape per-cut in it (this one was by Jillibean for shaker cards).

After masking the edges with a masking tape and ink blending the card front with  distress inks (Carved Pumpkin & Spiced Marmalade), we added few flicks of water and lifted the same. Once the masking tape was off, we were delighted with the contrast that the crisp white edges and jar shape provided against the bright and vivid inked card front. We then stamped the schools of cute fish inside the jar with light and dark browns to reflect the  color from the twigs in the inspiration photo.

IMG-20171025-WA0020 - Copy

For the Seahorse we first white heat embossed the image on a white card stock. Then we re-heat embossed only certain details on the image with light orange embossing powder for added interest. To create further dimension we again heat embossed the entire image of the seahorse with clear embossing powder. I was quite thrilled with the outcome of our experiment to color emboss just a few details on the image. We then fussy cut the image of the sea horse and also some white corals. I had had this star fish embellishment for quite sometime, which finally found its home on this card. All the elements were then stuck on the card after we heat embossed the lovely sentiment to finish.

Today, while I was making this card in a hurry before i left for office; I realized that i was swimming in Oceans of Love, just as the card read and visualized the elements of this card personify infront of my eyes (I am a bit of a crazy romantic and yes, i know i am weird that way).

While i was making this card as quickly as i could (pl read –  while i was swimming in oceans of love):

  1. Our son like the lil cute fish got ready for school all by himself without any help from me (which the sweet lil fellow actually does everyday).
  2. My house help took care of everything in the kitchen, leaving me worry free to concentrate on my card, like the white corals that give support.
  3. My talented sister helped me in all the ways possible. Who like the star fish on the card is the actual star. It was mostly her design and idea that we executed.
  4. My husband had actually left home early in the morning to drop his parents at the airport. But instead of heading to office or asking me to drop our son at school, he drove all the way back home to drop our son at school, so that i could finish my card on time. He like the seahorse carried the load.

IMG-20171025-WA0027All these lovely people in my life actually know how much i love to craft and encourage/support me to take part in challenges with all their heart.

I am truly blessed and very thankful to each one of them. More so because i have seen quite a few crafters, especially women, who don’t get encouraged so much. Most of the times, people think its just a hobby and don’t appreciate how keen & passionate a crafter could be.

I want to give a huge shout out to my family as well as all the people who help crafters/ artists like me to pursue their passion and follow their heart.

Three Cheers to all those who create Oceans of Love!

Thanks for dropping by and hope you liked my card. Do let me know what you think through the comments.

Have a great day, make someone happy today!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Swimming in Oceans of Love

  1. I love your post and how all your family were so wonderful while you made this amazing card. I am so pleased our photo inspired you so much and how you picked out so many elements from it. Your blending is perfect and I especially love how you brought in the contrast in the photo into your card. Super selected orange embossing on the sea horse. A joy of a card and so pleased you shared with us at Time Out Challenges

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great post, Bharati … your passion and caring shine through it! Your card is fabulous … the orange hues are blended beautifully … and glow so wonderfully against all the crisp white detailing! Thanks so much for playing along with us at Time Out! Anita 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment